Party Planning: The Invitation

28 Jun

This is part of a series of posts about the planning and execution of my daughter’s third birthday party. You can read all of the posts in this series here.

I’ve wanted to create personalized invitations for Lyra’s previous birthdays, but ran out of budget, time, and courage. Years away from Photoshop and graphic design tools left me feeling intimidated to attempt the page layout on my own, and well-designed options online were too expensive to justify the cost. This year I was determined to not only design the invitation, but to take the portrait that would be the focus of the design.

I started by sourcing a few rainbow-colored clothing options. I lucked out by finding a rainbow striped dress along with a multi-colored polka dot dress during a trip to Costco. While I always have grand visions of a well styled and prop-perfect image, I happen to live in a little place called, Reality. The dresses were perfectly cute and well-themed for the photo shoot. Lyra loves both of them and would wear them daily, if I’d let her.

Below is the finished design with three image choices. As of this writing, we hadn’t yet decided which image to go with. I like them all for different reasons, but my favorite is the last one. Getting a great image was a challenge in itself. And while I didn’t knock it out if the park, I’m perfectly happy with good enough.