December Daily 2010: Day 4

7 Dec

December Daily 2010: Day 4

Telling the story of more active days is proving to be a challenge in this small format, mostly because of the journaling. I have too much to say about the day and not enough legible space to do it in. I knew I would do an image collage for this Santa Coaster trip. And though I too many more pictures than this, I selectively edited them down to jus the ones you see here. I’m trying to limit myself to color correction and quick edits in Lightroom. But because I massage images to death for my clients, I have to make a conscious effort not to do that with these. Portrait sessions are different from a scrapbook and represent something more idealized. I don’t want to create a record of December Ideal. I want to create a record  of our December Real.

(And part of that reality is that it may take me until the 6th to write about what happened on the 4th.)

Here’s the journaling:

On Saturday morning we took our annual ride on the Santa Coaster. It was disappointing this year on a lot of fronts, but I’ll start with the positive surprise of running into several friends from our defunct playgroup, some whom I haven’t seen since last year. Lyra had a major meltdown (screaming, wailing tears) as the train ride went on 30-minutes longer than scheduled. Santa was in a big ‘ol hurry and didn’t stop to take pictures with each child like he has in the past. Luckily we’ll be catching him for some one-on-one time during Sunday’s planned event.

Saturday night we drove down to San Diego and went to Aunt Ditas annual Christmas party. I danced for hours and am definitely still feeling it. But if my mom who had knee surgery just 6 months ago, was going to be tearing up the floor, I had to jump out there, too. Lyra hit the dance floor several minutes after we arrived; and even after a change into pajamas shortly before 11, she had to be convinced that dancing time must eventually come to an end. It was a fun and exhausting day and night filled with family and friends.

 

One Response to “December Daily 2010: Day 4”

  1. glee stormont December 7, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    That is awesome that three generations of ladies were dancing it up together! I love your little “bread tag” dates.

Comments are closed.

