December Daily 2010: Day 2

3 Dec

December Daily 2010: Day 2

Another 5×5 spread for Day 2. For some reason I struggled with the precise placement of the elements for this layout for a ridiculous amount of time. Time I really should have spent doing something else more productive. Not that documenting the holiday season is unproductive, per se. But it’s images + words and a date stamp. Why I manage to stretch that into a 2 hour tweakfest is beyond me.

Here’s the journaling:

In just three short years this event has become a tradition for our family. Although we are in a small city, the arrival of Santa on an old-fashioned fire engine and the sound of carolers belting their hearts out, Makes me feel like I am living in a small town. A town where you actually know the names of the volunteers who decorate the tree and the regular eat dinner with the man wearing the beard.

Although Daddy wasn’t able to join us this year, we had fun munching mini donuts and seeing the sights at the festival. I laughed when you said, “It’s the same tree as last time.” It shows that you’re becoming aware of the tradition, too. When you are my age, Christmas will mean getting out into your community and spending a night together. And I definitely want that for you.

 

6 Responses to “December Daily 2010: Day 2”

  1. Vonda December 3, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    Love your layout – how did you get such great pictures at night? The one time Santa came by on a fire engine in my neighborhood all I could get was a dark orange (I think it was the siren) light flash, but no clear pictures of anything.

    • Yolanda December 3, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by, Vonda! Trust me there were more tosses than keeps. I put my camera on manual and set my f/stop as low as it would go (3.5 on my lens) and my ISO turned up as high as it would go (1600 on my camera). My shutter speed was pretty slow, so many shots were a complete blur, but I did get a few that worked. I sharpened, removed noise & adjusted the color in Lightroom to get what you see here.

  2. got2havefaith December 3, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    I love this layout. It’s so graphic. The text “merry.” in the night sky is perfect.

    • Yolanda December 3, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

      I’m trying to break free from graphic, but I seem stuck there right now. Thanks for the kind words!

  3. Autumn Nguyen December 3, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    I love the colors of this this layout!

  4. cinback December 4, 2010 at 12:28 am #

    Stunning photography!

Comments are closed.

