2 Sep

Yesterday, I sent a letter an e-mail out to my family and friends. It sat open in my e-mail program for six hours before I finally had the courage to press send. Though I had planned for this day at least three months ago, I felt nervous and insecure. Here’s an excerpt:

Have you ever had a dream that seemed impossible? One of those things that drifted up from the back of your mind every now and then, or every single day? If you have, then you know it takes a lot of courage to make that big leap. To go from playing around with the what-ifs in your mind, to jumping from that cliff and saying, “Why not?”

This letter is my big leap.

Introducing intrinsic images: a personalized photography business

For the past few months I have been taking many steps—some big, some small—toward launching a custom portrait and small event photography business. Today, I’m asking you to walk along with me and become my first clients.

I was nervous because, like most of us, I live with a little voice that tells me I suck. It says, You’re just another Mom With a Camera. A walking cliché. It tells me all the things that aren’t good enough about me. It points out all my faults and weaknesses. It shows me all the people in the world who are better at doing this thing I want to do. It tells me that everyone’s going to laugh at me and call me stupid.

I’ve listened to that voice for a long time.

But for once, I’m telling it to shut up.

The result of all that shutting up is a six-month long march toward the launch of intrinsic images.

Self-promotion isn’t really an inherent part of my personality. I’m far more comfortable with  self-deprecation. This space will remain my personal space, perhaps increasingly so. It may also be silent off and on as I get used to the obligations of posting in the other space and maintaining the now ubiquitous Facebook page.

Not to mention all of that photographing, editing, and appointment-setting that goes along with having a portrait business. If you’d like to have a peek at what I’ve been up to, you can follow along at any of the places, below.

4 Responses to “”

  1. Atasha September 8, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    It probably doesn’t mean much but I just wanted you to know I am so very proud of you. I know it’s not easy taking that huge step. Well done! I know without a doubt you will do great.

    • Yolanda September 9, 2010 at 7:34 am #

      Are you kidding? It means A LOT. Thank you for these words. And for being i my corner.

      • Tammy J September 13, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

        you are an awesome photographer! Let me be the first person to tell that little voice inside your head to shut up…good luck with your business! I know you will do awesome!

        • Yolanda September 17, 2010 at 11:35 am #

          Thank you, Tammy. That’s super kind of you.

Comments are closed.

