(Roy G Biv) Rainbow Birthday Party: What We Ate

23 Jul

I considered several menu options with you when in the planning stages of the Roy G Biv party. And while I was emotionally attached to the peanut butter and jelly bar, the feedback I received told me it was an idea better suited to a slightly older crowd than three-year-olds. So, in the end, I went with the Rainbow Fruit and Salad Bar.

And, since I have not a single photo of what the food looked like, you’re going to have to be satisfied with this list of items served along with links to the recipes I used. The bolded items were extremely popular and I highly recommend you make them at your next summer gathering.

(And, yes, in case you’re wondering I hand-scooped all the melon balls, and sliced and diced everything. Yes, I need validation. No, I’m not recommending you do the same.)

Fruits and Salad Fixings by Color

Red

Orange

  • mandarin oranges
  • cantaloupe balls
  • carrot ribbons
  • orange bell pepper

Yellow

Green

  • green grapes
  • lettuces
  • broccoli

Blue

  • blueberries
  • blue cheese

Violet

  • red grapes
  • sliced red cabbage
  • beets

Other

