Birthday Party Planning: Theme

14 Jun

This is the first in a series of posts about the planning and execution of my daughter’s third birthday party. You can read all of the posts in this series here.

The theme for this year’s party is Roy G Biv, inspired by Lyra’s love of bright color and this video by They Might Be Giants:

It might also be fair to say that I have fallen in love with several rainbow-themed party ideas to float through the web this year and I was just relieved to have an excuse to attempt making this cake:

10 Layer Rainbow Cake

Image from Chocolatesuze, step-by-step instructions on her blog.

I know you’re shaking your head at my insanity, but oh yes, I am definitely doing this. The first birthday cake I remember was from my third birthday. I don’t know if Lyra will remember this one, but even if she doesn’t I’ll still have the 100 pictures I’ll take to commemorate the hours of work that will go into it.

I don’t want to give the impression that this party is for me. Party planning is a form of creative expression for me. In my alternate, fantasy life, this is something I’d do for a living. Garrett and I used to throw a joint birthday party every year and I spent weeks crafting the theme and planning a menu around it. A slim budget means that we only throw one party a year now.  And, since we only have one child, I have more energy and time to invest in a birthday party for her. Growing up, I always felt a strong connection to my birthday as my day, a special day in our family where my life was celebrated, I want to create the same feeling for Lyra. Since she’s not yet of an age where she expresses an opinion about what kind of party to have (trust me, I asked), it’s up to me to put together an event that celebrates what an amazing, fun, and loved person she is and that delivers good food and memories to our guests.

2 Responses to “Birthday Party Planning: Theme”

  1. Vicky June 14, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    What a fun series, I love birthday planning:) Thanks for the colorful inspiration!

    • Yolanda June 14, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

      Thanks you for stopping by, Vicky! Lyra’s party will be far from a City Cradle party. But I’m grateful to sites like yours for all of the creative ideas and inspiration.

Comments are closed.

