A Week in the Life: Half Way

22 Apr

Technically, this is actually only one-quarter of the way. As this process has two parts: the documenting, followed by the album construction. If you’re curious about the what’s and why’s behind documenting a week in your life, see the links at the bottom of this post.

Before I started this process, I had some serious fear. These fears have re-emerged throughout the process, and I have agreed with myself to feel it, and then push through. The fears I have are not ones that you might expect: fears of completion, fears of forgetting my camera and failing to capture an entire day. I actually have a pretty good understanding that those things are part of the process, and they don’t keep me from wanting to take this on.

Instead, what I’d say I have feared is that documenting our lives in this way would reveal too many inadequacies. That is, if I were truthful, if I documented my life as I actually live it, what would show up would be embarrassingly dull. It would show the piles of mess that persist for days, hours spent on the internet, in front of the TV. It would show how rarely I leave the house, if I don’t have some place I must be. It would show the clothes that I never wear outside of the house.  The dust on my blinds. The towel that’s been in the floor since my daughter tossed it there two days, ago.

It would show how little I get done. In a day. In a week.

And the truth is, all of that is being revealed. Those fears were real, and not completely ungrounded. And it’s possible that the reason I was attracted to this project was precisely so I would have to scrutinize my life in that way. I have some habits that are clearly getting in the way of my ability to actually live the life I wish I were living. I also have some other barriers. Some health-related. Some economic. Most of it, fear-based.

But this project isn’t only about me. It is not merely a week in my life. It’s a week in the life of this family. And two decades from now, we’re not going to look back at the photos from this time and analyze the number of crumbs on the table. Instead, we’ll be talking about how lucky we are to have pictures of our family meals together. Not a holiday. Not a special occasion. Just a Monday night dinner with a crock pot recipe. I’ve eaten my mother’s fried chicken hundreds of times. I don’t have a single photograph to commemorate that comforting meal. An archive of eating the things she can make better than anyone else.

So, with that, I present a few collages of images from the past few days. I’ve taken at least 80 photos each day, so these are small highlights. I have no idea what will make it into the final layouts that I will build next week. Right now, I’m just collecting the data and making notes…

Monday

An almost-typical morning, following a fun and busy weekend.
Breakfast for Lyra and I. Lot’s of screen time for both of us.
Chicken prepped for the slow cooker.

Potty time. Nap time. Dinner Time. After dinner play.

An impromptu jumping game with our little dare-devil.
We do this stuff often, but I would never think to capture it if it weren’t for tis project.
It’s actually Garrett who remembered to grab the camera first.

[I’ve decided to put Tuesday’s and Wednesday’s collages in another post, in order to keep the length down.]

Learn more about Ali Edward’s Week in the Life project.

