Photo Challenge: i heart faces | hands on

21 Feb

I have a little bit of an obsession with capturing hands and feet in photographs. Our feet are our constant companions, carrying us through all our journeys. Leaving a print to mark where we’ve been. Our hands are weary travel companions, and their image tells the story of touch—the physical, and the emotional.

The theme for this week’s i heart faces photo challenge is hands on. This is my first time entering. Though I had several images I thought might fit the theme, my eye kept coming back to this picture I took last summer during an unbearably long hot spell. The melting popsicle dripping down on her dirt-covered fingers made me wistful for my own childhood, which was not nearly as joyous and free. And I am so grateful that I had my camera around to capture a moment that says childhood and summer.

i heart faces | hands on challenge

To view the other images I was considering for this week, please see this post.

Please visit i heart faces to view the rest of the participant’s “hands on” photos for this week:

10 Responses to “Photo Challenge: i heart faces | hands on”

  1. jaymee February 22, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    good to know i am not the only one crazy about feet and hands!

  2. heather February 22, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    welcome to IHF… wonderful entry! sticky fingers are some of my favorite.

  3. Samantha February 22, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    Right On!!! I love this picture. It so easily could be my daughter’s hand!!

  4. Marvett Smith February 22, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    Love the popsicle. Makes me miss summer!

  5. Tiffany February 23, 2010 at 5:52 am #

    Love this picture…we have had hands just like this too! Thanks for stopping by June Makes Six.

    Tiffany

  6. Nikki February 23, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    Awesome picture. It’s so fun to capture those moments that we will probably miss someday. Even if they are a little sticky and dirty.

  7. Debbie@50centlove February 23, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    Love the melted dirty popscicle!!

  8. Caroine February 23, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    YUKKY ~ gorgeous picture!! :D

  9. Katelyn February 27, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    Thanks for visiting my blog :) This is a wonderful shot, I can feel the stickiness!

Comments are closed.

