Baked: Healthy Morning Muffins

18 Feb

healthy morning muffins & fruit salad

I have a strong preference for a particularly high-glycemic breakfast: hot coffee or tea paired with a pastry (a scone, muffin, donut, etc.). While I do stray from this menu, it is fair to say that it is this combination of foods that I crave when I wake up, and that I’m most easily able to repeat without feeling bored. But, in the interest of improved health, I’ve been replacing my pure carbohydrate breakfast with one that has a good amount of fiber on most days, and a punch of protein on at least three.

These Healthy Morning Muffins are from a reader-submitted recipe to Everyday Food magazine. I eat mine with a smear of neufchatel cheese and pair them with 1 cup of my chunky fruit salad (1 pineapple, 2 Fuji apples, and 1 naval orange diced and drizzled with about 1/4 tsp of honey). I added chopped walnuts to mine for additional crunch, and substituted half the raisins with dried cranberries. I keep the baked muffins in the freezer (defrost in microwave and toast lightly).

healthy morning muffins

Healthy Morning Muffins
source: Everyday Food, January/February 2010

Non-stick cooking spray
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
1/2 cup raisins
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil (I used vegetable oil)
1 large egg
1/3 cup skim milk (I used whole milk since it’s what we always have on hand for Andrew)
4 medium carrots, shredded (I used 3, which was plenty)
1 medium ripe banana, mashed

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Coat a 12-cup muffin pan (or a 24-cup mini-muffin pan) with cooking spray. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, brown sugar, baking soda, baking powder, nutmeg, cinnamon and salt until there are no lumps. Stir in oats and raisins. Add oil, eggs, milk, carrots and banana and stir until blended.

2. Fill each muffin cup with batter. Bake until toothpick inserted in center of a muffin comes out clean (23 to 25 minutes for regular muffins, 15 minutes for mini-muffins). Serve muffins warm or at room temperature. To store, keep in an airtight container up to three days.

Nutrition data here.

