December Daily: Days 9, 10, 11

13 Dec

120909

A simple page, highlighting a few items from around the house. It was a cold and rainy day and we didn’t do much. The pinecones were painted by my mom a few years ago. I also have silver ones that I have pulled out the last few years. The card wreath (center left) is a very simple craft that I made based on the linked instructions. The cups on the bottom  are just a sampling of the set I made for advent. They are seed pots from Ikea that I’ve added number stickers and some decoupaged paper. They are inspired by this expensive set, called Buckets of Joy, from Garnet Hill.

December 10th, below, is best summarized as an exercise in anxiety and stress. A broken down car derails an entire evening’s plans and casts a shadow on the next day as we live in a car-dependent town and I was without a vehicle to run errands. The bigger heartache would come when we were informed of the estimate. A total so large it swallowed our Christmas budget whole. One we had carefully set aside for the entire year by creating automatic, biweekly, micro-withdrawals from our checking account to our savings. Nothing more to say about it than, the car is fixed. My Christmas spirit is wounded, but not extinguished.

121009 left121009 right

To wrap things up, we have a page dedicated to our playgroup ‘s annual cookie exchange on the 11th. I like the images, but don’t love the way this page came together. I may mess with it some more, but more than likely, I’ll live with it being imperfect.

121109

4 Responses to “December Daily: Days 9, 10, 11”

  1. slouchy December 29, 2009 at 8:52 pm #

    you are so talented — the cards are lovely.

    i’m so sorry about the loss of the xmas money.

  2. jdg January 5, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    what happened to the rest of the month? I hope you print these out as a book.

    (and the car thing sucks; same thing happened to us: broken washer and a car that needed new brakes).

    • Garrett January 6, 2010 at 8:59 am #

      We were just admiring your stuffed Totoro. Lyra loves to make the flowers grow.

  3. niobe January 20, 2010 at 7:24 am #

    I realize this is an old post, but I have to tell you that I love, love, *love* those advent calendar buckets. They are absolutely gorgeous and now I want to make my own. This is sooo brilliant.

Comments are closed.

