Why I gave up on “Love Walked In”

1 Feb

I was feeling simultaneously superior and excluded. So, instead of reading Love Walked In, I read Talk, Talk and I was so passionately in love with it…

Last year I joined a book club for moms of toddlers and babies that had afternoon meetings every two months where we would discuss a shared book while our children ran around. The second book chosen was Love Walked In. At the time I had my heart set on reading Talk, Talk by TC Boyle. I suggested it to the group, but was outvoted. My second choice, The Brief wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, was also voted down.

I was feeling simultaneously superior and excluded. So, instead of reading Love Walked In, I read Talk, Talk and I was so passionately in love with it. I checked out another of Boyle's books, The Tortilla Curtain, and read it. And…I tried to read Love Walked In afterward, but I just wasn't sucked in. Then I dropped out of the book club.

I want to finish it, I really do. But then, there's blogs and Facebook, and baking, and cooking to do. A toddler to care for, and all those TV shows and movies I've downloaded….

One Response to “Why I gave up on “Love Walked In””

  1. Tammy February 1, 2009 at 4:46 pm #

    haha always a ton to do and never enough time!! Isnt motherhood fun? lol

Comments are closed.

