If I could tame a wild animal

25 Jan

I have a pet elephant. This is our story.

 


Elephant by Art G. (digitalART2)

Some day she will turn on me. My pet elephant, overcome by an urge to roam. To seek water, to walk paths worn by her grandmother, her aunts, and ancient sisters long ago.

There is no cage I keep her in. No comfort I can provide. Her long eyelashes close like curtains over a darkened stage. Her nearly silent steps are uncomfortable on my laminate. Languid ears flapping, cools the blood coursing just beneath the surface.

Our respect is mutual, but our admiration is not. I am the keeper of one who cannot bare to be kept. She swings her trunk and breaks free.

3 Responses to “If I could tame a wild animal”

  1. Garrett January 26, 2009 at 9:04 am #

    This brought tears to my eyes…. I don’t understand why.

  2. Yolanda January 26, 2009 at 9:39 am #

    Elephants have that effect on people ;-)

  3. Jenny January 27, 2009 at 1:41 am #

    I love you, Yolanda. You’re a wonderful person. I’m glad to know you, and hope our friendship (if I may be so bold as to call it that…) will grow to something deeper than it is. I admire your strength, and feel there is something for me to learn from you. I can only hope that the relationship will be mutual.

Comments are closed.

