Mix Tape: three songs for a long drive

24 Jan

Three songs for a road trip mix tape and I don’t manage to squeeze in Radiohead or The Crystal Method. But songs for a long drive are different from the soundtrack of the daily commute. These are only three of the lovelies I’d insist on having with me. If you ask me tomorrow, I’d probably choose three others.

Divorce Song by Liz Phair

I could write a Masters thesis about the perfect way Liz captures the absurdity and raw pain of breakup in this song. More than anything, though, this song is perfect for wailing at the top of your lungs while driving down a two-lane highway, your destination still hours (or days) away.

Ready, Steady, Go by Paul Oakenfold

This song pounds hard during the car chase scene in The Bourne Identity and blares louder than the numerous gunshots in the club scene in Collateral. This is a freeway driving song. Multiple lanes required. Traffic minimal. Sunshine, preferred.

Thank U by Alanis Morissette

A song that was popular enough that everyone in the car over the age of 30 has heard it and probably knows the words. It’s another song that just begs to be sung out loud, hopefully with the windows down and a light rain hitting your cheeks. This song was an anthem of mine during a great emotional transition, and rarely do I hear the words without taking a second to feel gratitude, if for nothing more than arriving safely to my destination.

One Response to “Mix Tape: three songs for a long drive”

  1. Jeremiah March 5, 2009 at 3:31 pm #

    “Thank U” was precisely that sort of song for me as well – an anthem during a great emotional transition – for which I was roundly teased. Even sang it at a couple of karaoke nights back in the day.

    It didn’t hurt that I’d been living abroad and come home to some culture shock, etc. Not India, but still.

Comments are closed.

