Unscripted

15 Nov

I wrote something else longer and whiny. I’ve self-censored, and will leave you with this:

Last night I had a dream that I was cast as Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz. But I had too many obligations and I missed three weeks of rehearsals. But when opening night came, I insisted with my husband that I had to be at the show. That I had promised to be there.

I arrived in costume and everyone was staring at me and asking me, “Where the hell have you been?” with their eyes.  I was anxious and guilt-stricken, thinking about all of the work that had gone on while I was away.  I told them I was ready, “Please put me on stage.”

The stage manager looked at me sternly and asked if I knew the blocking. Had I memorized all of my lines?

And that’s when my heart sank. I didn’t know a single line. I didn’t even know where my script was. I wanted to keep my promise, but I was wholly unprepared. Completely inept.

And then I flushed with embarrassment as my understudy walked by, fully decked out in her Dorothy costume. I bit my lip, wondering why I hadn’t just given up, when I didn’t have a clue what I was doing.

4 Responses to “Unscripted”

  1. Julie Pippert November 18, 2008 at 10:52 am #

    Oh, what a dream. I have a similar nightmare only it is one of those waking ones.

  2. Garrett November 20, 2008 at 8:42 am #

    I know this is a recurring theme in your life. I wish I could give you the inspiration you needed to figure it out and come to terms with it.

  3. slouching mom December 22, 2008 at 6:25 pm #

    Gah. Do our dreams really have to be invaded by anxiety? I HATE that.

    Hope the dream hasn’t repeated itself.

  4. kingofnewyorkhacks December 28, 2008 at 10:28 pm #

    Maybe you just want to be one of those evil flying monkeys who have no lines, and scare the shit out of everyone. Thats my two cents.

Comments are closed.

