Seven Things About Me

29 Nov

I have read these memes many times on other’s blogs. For the first time, I have been tagged. Thank you to Julie of Using My Words for giving me something to write, today. (Incidentally, Julie tagged me twice. Tomorrow I shall take on the challenge of the other meme.)

  1. When I was four-years-old my mother took us to the beach. I was sucked in by the force of a large drain pipe. The sound of the rushing water was repeatedly muted as my head was sucked under again and again. My small body was useless against the current. I imagined myself floating to an undersea village and living with mermaids and fishes. Then there was afirm grasp from my brother’s hand and I was somehow pulled to safety. The next day I developed the worst case of chicken pox ever visited upon a human being. To this day, I am deathly afraid of having my head submerged in water or having water splash in my face unexpectedly.
  2. I dropped out of school my senior year of high school, under the weight of enormous academic pressure, my parents’ failing marriage, and my own terrible relationship. After three days I was forced to go back and was placed in regular classes on a half-day schedule so that I could simple earn my remaining credits and graduate. I had not been in a class with non-advanced students since third grade. I was terrified, at first. The work was at least three grades beneath me. For the only time in my life, I had a 4.0 GPA.
  3. I have flat feet.
  4. I did not apply to a single college even though I received this “prestigious writing award” in high school. My biggest regret is not knowing if I would have been turned down and simply assuming I would. (My fear of rejection was is just that big.) Although I earned an AA in web design, it would take me almost thirteen years after I graduated high school to finally earn a BA in English.
  5. I can only eat eggs that I have prepared. This causes big problems for me when I eat breakfast out. The sight and smell of eggs on my plate makes me gag.
  6. I took dance lessons and gymnastics throughout most of my childhood. I had a dream of starring in Kids Incorporated, followed by Fame, and then moving on to a career as a Rockette. My mother signed me up for an advanced gymnastics class when I was ten. Early puberty made me taller, heavier, and bustier than the other girls there. I was the non-white girl in the gym. I cried the next time I was brought for lessons and refused to go in.
  7. For years I had a recurring nightmare about being chased by a wild boar. The dream started early in childhood and stretched until my late teens. One day an old movie was on television and I began to see the scene fro my dream play out in front of me. It was a minor scene from Old Yeller. I don’t remember seeing the movie when I was young, but apparently it stuck with me. I’ve never had the dream since that day, but I remember it vividly, because I had it so often for so many years.

I don’t know seven people to tag, but here is my list below:

Rules for the meme can be found here.

8 Responses to “Seven Things About Me”

  1. Suz November 29, 2007 at 6:21 pm #

    I also have to thank Julie, but for introducing me to your blog. I started reading because I’m also an elearning designer; I also had a rough, rough time after delivering my sons. But, then, all similarity ceased because I found your prose to be wonderfully imaginative and unique. I’m looking forward to reading more.

  2. Sarcastic Mom November 29, 2007 at 6:46 pm #

    You did a great job on your seven things. The first thing hit me, because I got pulled under by the rip current at the beach when I was about 4 and it scared the bezeebus outta me.

    I actually did already do this one… but I went back to the post and added you to the people who tagged me. ;-)

    This is the link to it: Tagged Like Gangbusters

    Love your header, btw.

  3. sweetisu November 29, 2007 at 8:06 pm #

    :D Thanks for the tag! I was also tagged with the same meme at another blog so I’ll be doing this soon.

  4. sweetisu November 29, 2007 at 8:17 pm #

    Wow about #7. It’s strange that you can’t remember seeing it but only in your dreams. Our son freaks out at anything *remotely* violent or loud on TV. He got scared with the CARS movie and we turned it off after about 10 minutes. He’s very sensitive, have lots of dreams / nightmares too..

  5. James November 29, 2007 at 10:42 pm #

    #6 = Neat
    #2 = i never realized, wish i had been around that year for support…i was self absorbed in my own mess.

  6. juliepippert November 30, 2007 at 11:22 am #

    I got trapped under water by a raft. To this day I cannot swim in any crowded spot and don’t like lakes.

    Your #1 made me lose my breath. #6 made me so, so sad. It is something similar that caused me to stop my music.

    Excellent list…very moving and so honest.

    Julie
    Using My Words

  7. lynnel November 30, 2007 at 6:18 pm #

    Thanks for tagging me!
    I remember watching you go through number 2 (though I didn’t know many of the reasons behind it). I remember being horrified by the idea of you being in “THOSE CLASSES” (though I was more horrified by the idea of you not finishing school at all) because your were (and are) so smart and talented. But, the change was almost instantaneous. It was like this huge weight had been lifted off your shoulders. Then I was just upset because I never got to see you anymore ;)

  8. Atasha December 6, 2007 at 7:49 pm #

    Just dropping by to say that I haven’t forgotten, I will do the meme soon, hopefully later tonight if I’m lucky.
    I hope you’re doing okay.

Comments are closed.

