Wish List: November 21, 2007

21 Nov

Item Two: Opera Tickets

Aida San Diego Opera poster

(Explanation for this post, here).

When I was in high school I was lucky enough to participate in an awesome program put on by the San Diego Opera. For $15 a show, K-12 students could attend the dress rehearsal performances of the entire season of opera. Initially, I bought tickets because I was an intellectual-snobby-hipster and I thought there was something cool and ironic about going to watch people sing in languages I didn’t understand. Unexpectedly, I fell head-over-heels in love with it. To this day, you can’t get me to sit through most musicals, but I have long dreamt of seeing another opera. At $100+ per ticket, it will probably remain a fantasy for some time to come. But it has been almost fifteen years since I saw my last performance. I would very much like to go, again.

One Response to “Wish List: November 21, 2007”

  1. lynnel November 21, 2007 at 7:52 pm #

    Do you get the HD Met productions in San Diego? They contract with movie theaters to show (NY) Metropoliton Opera productions (in High Def). The tickets are usually $20-25. They’re great, and much more affordable than “live” opera. I’ll bet the Met’s website will give you a list of participating theaters. There are several theaters here that participate, so I’d be very surprised if there isn’t one there.
    Not that I don’t think “real” opera tickets wouldn’t make a great gift too! ;)

Comments are closed.

