What’s Burnin’: Creamy Pasta with Spinach and Bacon

13 Nov

This is going to be a bad recipe in that I only have a vague idea as to what I did to make this pasta dish. Let’s just say I was faced with a pound of defrosted bacon, I still had a lot of spinach to get through, and I dind’t know what to make for dinner. Here’s what I came up with.

  1. I began by dicing and sautéing about half of the bacon over medium heat, in a small skillet, removing the cooked bacon with a slotted spoon and setting aside on paper towels to drain and cool.
  2. While the bacon cooked, I put on a half pound of short ridged pasta to boil. I used what I had on hand, which was radiatore. I also diced up some small chunks of sharp cheddar cheese.
  3. During the last minute two minutes of cooking I added 1 cup of frozen corn kernels to the boiling pasta liquid and piled about four cups of spinach into a colander in and sat it in the sink.
  4. When the pasta was done, I dumped the pot into the colander, giving the spinach a quick blanch.
  5. I returned the pot to the stove, poured in a tablespoon of the bacon drippings and added an equal amount of olive oil. I added a couple of teaspoons of flour to the post and made a thin roux.
  6. I poured in enough heavy cream to thicken the sauce and make it come together (about 1/3 cup). Seasoned with salt, pepper, and a dash of nutmeg.
  7. I then returned the contents of the colander along with half of the cooked bacon to the pot and tossed to combine.
  8. Once everything was heated, but not boiling, I stirred in the cubes of cheddar cheese.
  9. The whole thing was plated and garnished with cooked bacon.

Now my husband, who does not eat green things in any form, gobbled down this cholesterol-heavy dish. He ate all the spinach in his bowl, saying he didn’t mind the taste at all, because of the bacony-cheesy goodness of everything else. I consider this a major victory and will definitely make this again.

