To Garrett, On Our Tenth Wedding Anniversary

2 Nov

I have been thinking about this post for at least six months, wondering what I would say on this day that could give it the proper weight and truly honor you in the way it should. I will save some of my thoughts for our private time together. Even my twelve readers can’t know everything about us.

No, my love. Some things are best left between us.

This year has been monumental. I don’t have to list all of the unbelievable things that have happened to us, that have transformed us and forced us to redefine what it means to no longer simply be husband and wife, but daddy and mommy, too. But if I’ve ever wanted to know what love is—if by some chance I still hadn’t figured it out after ten years—you have redefined it for me again and again this year.

I have never properly thanked you for helping me stand, for telling me this wasn’t my only chance, when that first trimester bleeding shook me to my core, and I collapsed on the floor so sure I had lost this baby. From that new Year’s Eve kiss that stretched into a two-day long adventure almost eleven years ago, now, we have long said that the way you begin the year is the way you’ll spend the year. You have done a lot of heavy lifting this year, literally and figuratively. I thank you for every tear you’ve wiped and every arm you’ve held out for me, allowing me to take a step when I didn’t believe I could move.

I am sad to say that for many couples, ten years is an unreachable eternity. For me, it has gone by in a flash. There have been many memories built, and so much growth. Degrees have been earned. Careers have been switched. Houses have been bought. But there has been one constant. There always will be.

When I met you, I felt your heartache and saw deeper into your eyes than I have ever seen (ever will see) into another human being. I vowed to fill that space in your heart, and will do so in this life and beyond. Thank you for filing my heart fuller than I ever imagined possible. Thank you for being mine.

All my love,

Your Wife


(Cross-posted at NabloPoMo.)I’m a NaBloPoMo Badge click the badge to visit the blog of another random participant.

2 Responses to “To Garrett, On Our Tenth Wedding Anniversary”

  1. Garrett November 2, 2007 at 6:37 am #

    Sometimes it feels like I have only just met you. Other times it seems like I’ve known you my whole life and I can hardly recall my life without you in it.

    There are many things I would like to say but, alas I am at work. Therefore I cannot have tears streaming down my face. Which would be the outcome if I were to start thinking about you and this day. People simply do not understand tears of joy.

    I thank you for everything you have done for us this year, I know it has been incredibly difficult. I’m glad I was able to be there for you when you needed me. If blood flows through my veins I shall always be there when you need me.

    All My Love,

    Your Husband

  2. Lynne November 2, 2007 at 2:02 pm #

    Congrats you two!

Comments are closed.

