Archive | 6:00 am

Trying it Again

1 Nov

NaBloPoMo SealLast year I made an earnest effort to participate in National Blog Posting Month, better known as NaBloPoMo. I failed miserably, but I’m trying it again. The rules of the contest are quite simple: Post every day for the month of November. Execution, is something else.

You see, Thanksgiving is frequently an unwieldy month for me. Garrett and I have our anniversary on the 2nd (10 years!!), which is tomorrow for those who are keeping track. Then there’s that week of wondrous domesticity known as Thanksgiving, which can be all-consuming with its mounds of chopping, simmering, baking, and basting. Thanksgiving is hands down my favorite holiday of the year, but doing anything else during that week is really hard. When I was working, I usually took the whole week off in order to give myself enough time. So, we’ll see how well I’m able to blog, care for Lyra, keep my freelance commitments AND manage to get a Thanksgiving dinner on the table for at least a dozen people.

Did I mention, my mom’s birthday is the 23rd? Did I mention that I have to post every day?

I know, it sounds crazy. But I happen to be one of those people that needs a little bit of external motivation sometimes. I’m high on the introversion scale and I can find a million reasons not to expose myself to the very small population of people who read this blog. The first time I saw that someone googled Milk Duds and wound up on my site, I nearly freaked out. But at the end of the day, there’s no point in writing something and posting it online, if I’m not really interested in sharing with an anonymous public or building a community around it.

So, there it is. I’m NaBloPoMo-ing. I’ll be cross-posting everything from The Chronicle to my NaBloPoMo page, so no need to update feeds. And, as usual, the feed from Callipygian Chronicles will show up as a link Callipygian Briefs. I’m looking forward to seeing what pours out of me this month. Hopefully, you’ll find something here to keep you coing back regularly.

Below, is a short list of topics I hope to get to this month:

  • Some recipes ( I haven’t done this since my old What’s Burnin’ section on my old blog)
  • The Arrival: Part Three
  • A story, perhaps in progress
  • Five Things: Month Four
  • Lyra talking in her sleep
  • An anniversary post
  • Some Second Life stuff

I’m a NaBloPoMo Badge click the badge to visit the blog of another random participant.