Farewell to the Newly-born

16 Oct

I’ve added a new slide show to my tumblr page featuring pictures of Lyra at three-months-old. Some of these pictures make me absolutely breathless. I definitely don’t claim to be a particularly good photographer. I have a good point-and-shoot camera and I took a basic photography class in art school. All I can say is that it helps to have a good subject.

When you compare these shots to the previous months’ (1 , 2), you will notice a big change in her presence. Everything I read said hat something would happen at three months, that your baby would leave the newborn misery and hatred of being in this world; and suddenly would be here. Present. Looking you in the eye and acting like a human being.

The transition came suddenly and has been so amazing to witness. I know that she will amaze me many times in the coming months and years. Most of the time, I will not be able to capture it in a photograph. I hope, instead, to grab onto it with my words, to describe it accurately. So that one day she may read about a girl she doesn’t remember being, or the woman who was learning to become her mom.

2 Responses to “Farewell to the Newly-born”

  1. Lynne October 16, 2007 at 2:31 pm #

    Awesome pics! I love the ones with mum and dad the best (so cool that you can do black & white!)

  2. yrlhowe October 16, 2007 at 3:00 pm #

    Thanks, Lynne. I can’t stop looking at some of these, myself. Her beauty astounds me.

Comments are closed.

