Sorry for the Silence

5 Aug

I realize I’ve been a bit quiet this week. I suppose it’s a result of sleep deprivation, sure to return this week as Garrett returns to the office and Lyra and I are left home alone for the first time.

She will turn one month old this week. Yin and yang are still hanging out with us. Simultaneously I think, It’s only been four weeks ? and I can’t believe it’s been four weeks, already. I am officially below my pre-pregnancy weight, but my post-pregnancy hardly resembles my old one. The scar from my hysterectomy is nothing compared to my abdominal stretch marks. Every formula we try makes Lyra constipated and gassy, but she can’t get enough breast milk in feeding to satisfy her voracious appetite…

I do not know how women work and have babies. Even with all of the help I’ve had, I can barely get through the day. If I actually had to get up at a certain time in the morning, drive in traffic, and deal with engorged breasts in an office…I have no clue how I’d survive.

